afghan jokes

He said he sold a simple slab of meat
For thirty silver pieces minted new;
And when the Friday moonlight struck the street
It seemed to prove his hateful statement true;
They say they dined that night in wondrous style,
With gallant toasts and speeches read aloud,
That soared above the silence; all the while
Below, a sullen, surly, restive crowd
Of fifty million slaughtered in the wombs,
For nothing more than mere convenience’ sake,
Stood mute while silent bands strode past the tombs
Where legions lay for someone on the take:
As gourmands sniffed the blood upon the cork,
An eagle died upon a silver fork.

Books related to this poem, Suspiria de Profundis, may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservativeis an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

All comments are moderated and must be civil, concise, and constructive to the conversation. Comments that are critical of an essay may be approved, but comments containing ad hominem criticism of the author will not be published. Also, comments containing web links or block quotations are unlikely to be approved. Keep in mind that essays represent the opinions of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of The Imaginative Conservative or its editor or publisher.

Leave a Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email