en1_fn_fnx_45_with_stainless_steel_slide-tfbThe historian Michael Bellesiles tried to usher in the new millennium by claiming that guns were scarce in colonial America and even beyond. The problem was, it was quite easy to show that his research was flawed and his conclusions nonsensical. It wasn’t the first time that an historian with an agenda was found out, disgraced, and stripped of his prizes and his job. I have timed it: it takes just about thirty-seven seconds on a limited research tool–the internet–to find out that a non-warrior culture in New England defined gun-control by requiring households to…OWN GUNS!

If the USA has a real, bonafide, ubiquitous tradition, it is in the ownership and use of guns. Since it is an aim of the current regime to limit that tradition or reverse it, the truly imaginative conservative should consider its defense. BUY THE ONE YOU LOVE A GUN FOR CHRISTMAS! I even have a suggestion.

Ruger is an American company, and makes a great line of guns for sport and self-defense. My wife and I recently purchased a Ruger SR9c 9mm pistol, which is small enough, powerful enough, and aesthetically pleasing enough to satisfy the person you love the most.

Merry Christmas!

For more on Second Amendment Rights and American Conservatism visit The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

We have a great appreciation for the thought of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Irving Babbitt and Christopher Dawson, among other imaginative conservatives. However, some of us look at the state of Western culture and the American Republic and see a huge dark cloud which seems ready to unleash a storm that may well wash away what we most treasure of our inherited ways. Others focus on the silver lining which may be found in the next generation of traditional conservatives who have been inspired by Dr. Kirk and his like. We hope that The Imaginative Conservative answers T.S. Eliot’s call to “redeem the time, redeem the dream.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email