liberal hymnI love Humanity in all
Its misery and need;
I love those suffering in thrall,
Resenting others’ greed;
I love the spiritual link,
Uniting all who breathe and think,
Together standing on the brink,
Until I give the call.

I love the Populace throughout
Its genders and its races;
I love Diversity about
In safely distant places;
I love downtrodden people who
Will do what they are told to do,
As we, their betters, always knew,
And not just screw about. 

I love the Hungry just so long
As I don’t have to see ‘em;
You say that we’re aloof or wrong,
But would you wish to be ‘em?
Would not our world the better stay,
As we design that brighter day,
And meanwhile they’d just go away
Until we bang the gong?

I hate Humanity when it’s
Assuming airs and graces;
When all those nameless, faceless bits
Are given names and faces!
Their loss of anonymity
Demands responsibility,
Disrupting ideology,
And, frankly, it’s the pits!

 

 

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

We have a great appreciation for the thought of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Irving Babbitt and Christopher Dawson, among other imaginative conservatives. However, some of us look at the state of Western culture and the American Republic and see a huge dark cloud which seems ready to unleash a storm that may well wash away what we most treasure of our inherited ways. Others focus on the silver lining which may be found in the next generation of traditional conservatives who have been inspired by Dr. Kirk and his like. We hope that The Imaginative Conservative answers T.S. Eliot’s call to “redeem the time, redeem the dream.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email