132-forbes-americas-best-collegesReaders of The Imaginative Conservative might be interested in a few pieces floating around the internet this morning.

Jim Otteson offers—rather naturally—an excellent critique of the new college rankings as decreed by Forbes. His article can be found at Pileus.

134-viking_waxeThe New York Times has a fascinating piece on Danish “austerity” measures. The Danish government has just decided to cut unemployment benefits from four years to two years. What would their Viking ancestors have said about this?

Oh, what a 1,000 years can do to a people.

136-elements_smFinally, for those of us writing/blogging on our iPads, this program—Second Gear’s Elements—looks quite good. Macworld has a solid review of it here.

Back to listening to some old (1973) Genesis and preparation for fall classes . . . .

Books on topics discussed in this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative BookstoreThe Imaginative Conservative applies the principle of appreciation to the discussion of culture and politics—we approach dialogue with magnanimity rather than with mere civility. Will you help us remain a refreshing oasis in the increasingly contentious arena of modern discourse? Please consider donating now.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an online journal for those who seek the True, the Good, and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts, and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

All comments are moderated and must be civil, concise, and constructive to the conversation. Comments that are critical of an essay may be approved, but comments containing ad hominem criticism of the author will not be published. Also, comments containing web links or block quotations are unlikely to be approved. Keep in mind that essays represent the opinions of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of The Imaginative Conservative or its editor or publisher.

Leave a Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email