sonnetsThey laboured hard to kill the very thing
They swore at length did surely not exist;
Their modern electronic imaging
Came nowhere close to showing what they missed;
Within their shining labs they laboured long,
Expending effort far beyond belief
While learning not where they went sadly wrong,
And this, too, plunged them into mortal grief;
Vain hope to slay what none of them could find,
Which dullards said they saw by night and day,
Rebuked each finely educated mind
Much more than any one of them could say;
Again they studied every chart and graph,
And cooing thus, the Paraclete did laugh.

 

 

 

Books on the topics discussed in Nisi Credideritis may be found in The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservativeis an on-line journal for those who seek the True, the Good and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, Richard Weaver, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, Paul Elmer More and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men) .

We address a wide variety of major issues including: What is the essence of conservatism? What was the role of faith in the American Founding? Is liberal learning still possible in the modern academy? Should conservatives and libertarians be allies? What is the proper role for the American Republic in spreading ordered liberty to other cultures/nations?

All comments are moderated and must be civil, concise, and constructive to the conversation. Comments that are critical of an essay may be approved, but comments containing ad hominem criticism of the author will not be published. Also, comments containing web links or block quotations are unlikely to be approved. Keep in mind that essays represent the opinions of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of The Imaginative Conservative or its editor or publisher.

Leave a Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email