Coptic Christians protest against the killings of people during clashes in Cairo between Christian protesters and military police, in Los AngelesWhile North African and Middle Eastern Christians have long suffered at the hands of Muslims, the last six or so months seem to have been especially brutal.

Does anyone else see the irony in the fact that Obama unilaterally decided (from Brazil of all places) to take sides in the Libyan Civil War, but he’s made no mention of the persecuted Christians throughout the same region of the world?

Some recent headlines and links:

From Reuters today—Ethiopian Christians attacked:

http://blogs.reuters.com/faithworld/2011/03/24/ethiopias-religious-divides-flare-up-in-muslim-attacks-on-christians/

From Fox, late February of this year—Egyptian military attacks Coptic monasteries:

http://nation.foxnews.com/egypt/2011/02/28/egyptian-forces-attack-coptic-monastery

What about the fact (oh, those pesky facts) that the Egyptian army destroyed those monasteries armed with weapons stamped “Made in America,” paid for by U.S. taxpayers?

Or, how about this: no westerner ever expects to read headlines such as “Christians destroy Mosque” or “Radical Christians Attack Muslims”?

Ah, Islam. . . . bringing the world closer to the Apocalypse, one step at a time since 622AD.

Books on the topic of this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative BookstoreThe Imaginative Conservative applies the principle of appreciation to the discussion of culture and politics—we approach dialogue with magnanimity rather than with mere civility. Will you help us remain a refreshing oasis in the increasingly contentious arena of modern discourse? Please consider donating now

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an online journal for those who seek the True, the Good, and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts, and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

The Imaginative Conservative applies the principle of appreciation to the discussion of culture and politics—we approach dialogue with magnanimity rather than with mere civility.

Leave a Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email