On Loving Bookstores

By |2019-03-04T16:02:17-05:00March 4th, 2019|

Growing up in a small but well-to-do Kansas town, I had access to several local bookshops—used and new—in grade school. Every bookstore offered joys, mysteries, and delights. Rarely have I walked into one and not found some kind of treasure. A few weeks ago, while lecturing for a Hillsdale College event in Boise, Idaho, [...]

5 Christmas Gift Suggestions from ISI

By |2018-12-15T10:18:59-05:00December 15th, 2018|

“Go on to the Useless Presents.” I think of that line often at Christmastime. It comes from Dylan Thomas’s “A Child Christmas in Wales.” A young boy implores the narrator to describe the kinds of gifts he received as a child. When the boy tires of hearing about the “Useful Presents”—scarves, hats, and such—he [...]

The Glorious Inefficiency of Local Bookstores

By |2018-10-28T21:49:34-05:00October 21st, 2018|

Today’s offering in our Timeless Essay series affords readers the opportunity to join Dean Abbott as he considers the importance of the small, local bookstore to civilization. —W. Winston Elliott III, Publisher Our family lives in the kind of town most people only see in fiction: an archetypal, small, Midwestern town of picket fences and blocks [...]

The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore

By |2016-11-04T19:19:03-05:00January 30th, 2013|

The Imaginative Conservative Bookstore offers books in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford and Christopher Dawson. We hope you will enjoy the books by those who inspire us to be imaginative conservatives. We hope you will join us in The Imaginative [...]