Will You Help Us Preserve the Good, the True, and the Beautiful?

By |2019-06-11T16:34:48-05:00June 11th, 2019|Categories: Support The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

The Imaginative Conservative’s mission is to preserve the transcendentals, the “permanent things” that constitute the glory of Western Civilization. Here we offer thoughtful and reflective essays on issues of culture, philosophy, history, politics, economics, the arts, and liberal learning, written by some of the great conservative minds of the present and the past.  Since The Imaginative Conservative’s inception in [...]

From Union to Empire: Essays in the Jeffersonian Tradition

By |2019-04-12T22:05:33-05:00April 12th, 2019|Categories: American Founding, American Republic, Books, Clyde Wilson, Republicanism, Thomas Jefferson, Timeless Essays, W. Winston Elliott III|

From Union to Empire: Essays in the Jeffersonian Tradition by Clyde N. Wilson (356 pages, The Foundation for American Education, 2003) Today’s offering in our Timeless Essay series affords our readers the opportunity to join Publisher W. Winston Elliott III, as he considers a classic collection of essays about the Jeffersonian tradition. —Stephen M. [...]

Firing the Imagination: The Legacy of Russell Kirk

By |2018-10-19T07:46:17-05:00October 19th, 2018|Categories: Conservatism, Prospects for Conservatives, Russell Kirk, The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

Russell Kirk offers us a rich legacy in words and deeds. If we heed them we may yet play our part in preserving our Republic’s ordered liberty... The thought of Dr. Russell Kirk has inspired many people and many projects, including the journal that you are now reading. Founded by Dr. Bradley Birzer and myself [...]

These Too Shall Pass: The Arena, Not the Bunker

By |2018-07-10T09:28:23-05:00July 10th, 2018|Categories: Bradley J. Birzer, Conservatism, The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

The Imaginative Conservative has never once proclaimed originality. Rather, it has proclaimed that true and abiding things exist, untouched by the mockery or ignorance of man. There are things that always exist, but are often forgotten… The Imaginative Conservative is eight years old today (July 10). A quick calculation shows that I’ve written roughly [...]

In Honor of Mr. Thomas Jefferson’s 275th Birthday

By |2018-04-13T09:58:36-05:00April 12th, 2018|Categories: Clyde Wilson, Russell Kirk, Thomas Jefferson, W. Winston Elliott III|

Here are recommended essays regarding Thomas Jefferson (April 13, 1743 – July 4, 1826) on The Imaginative Conservative: Looking for Mr. Jefferson by Clyde Wilson Thomas Jefferson’s Birthday by Clyde Wilson The Declaration of Independence: Translucent Poetry by Eva Brann Thomas Jefferson & the American Declaration of Independence by Ross Lence Thomas Jefferson, Conservative by Clyde Wilson Jefferson Was [...]

Homer’s “Odyssey” Is a Gift

By |2018-08-15T15:12:46-05:00April 9th, 2017|Categories: Classics, Eva Brann, Featured, Great Books, Homer, Odyssey, W. Winston Elliott III|

“Sing in me, Muse, and through me tell the story of that man skilled in all ways of contending, the wanderer, harried for years on end, after he plundered the stronghold on the proud height of Troy.” So begins Homer’s Odyssey. Long ago I launched my ship in pursuit of the true, the good, and [...]

“Russell Kirk: American Conservative” — A Definitive Biography

By |2016-11-04T19:18:12-05:00September 1st, 2016|Categories: Books that Make Us Human, Bradley J. Birzer, Featured, Russell Kirk, W. Winston Elliott III|

The Imaginative Conservative’s co-founder and editor-at-large, Bradley J. Birzer, has received another award for his outstanding, new biography of seminal conservative thinker, Russell Kirk. Following on the heels of The Imaginative Conservative’s own 2015 Book of the Year Award, the Intercollegiate Studies Institute (ISI) has announced that Dr. Birzer has won the 2016 Henry and [...]

Ten Books by Eva Brann: Spark Your Imagination

By |2018-11-21T08:36:59-05:00June 22nd, 2016|Categories: Books, Eva Brann, Featured, St. John's College, W. Winston Elliott III|

Our readers have come to know and to admire Eva Brann, Senior Contributor to The Imaginative Conservative and tutor at St. John’s College, who always challenges us with her insightful writings on liberal learning, the hidden treasures in Homer’s poems, the artful devices of the dialogues of Socrates, and the wonders found in “the conservatory of the imagination.” [...]

An Ode to Great Books and a Beautiful Library

By |2019-06-06T18:33:35-05:00May 29th, 2016|Categories: Books, Essential, Featured, Libraries, Timeless Essays, W. Winston Elliott III, Will Durant, Wisdom|

Today’s offering in our Timeless Essay series affords readers the opportunity to join Will Durant and me as we contemplate bibliophilic exuberance. —W. Winston Elliott III, Publisher “If I were rich I would have many books, and I would pamper myself with bindings bright to the eye and soft to the touch, in paper generously [...]

Five Ways to Help The Imaginative Conservative

By |2019-06-14T15:17:45-05:00January 20th, 2016|Categories: Support The Imaginative Conservative, The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

Do you enjoy reading our reasoned and reflective essays at The Imaginative Conservative, as we pursue the Good, the True, and the Beautiful? Do you enjoy engaging in discussions of culture, history, politics, and economics, in the tradition of Russell Kirk, Edmund Burke, Richard Weaver, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism? Do [...]

Russell Kirk: American Conservative – Imaginative Conservative 2015 Book of the Year

By |2016-11-04T19:18:26-05:00January 1st, 2016|Categories: Book of the Year, Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Russell Kirk, W. Winston Elliott III|

The Imaginative Conservative is pleased to announce its 2015 Book of the Year: Bradley J. Birzer's Russell Kirk: American Conservative. This is the first in what will be an annual recognition given by the editors of The Imaginative Conservative to the book published during the calendar year that best enhances our understanding of conservatism. As Robert Stacey said in his review in [...]

Five Candles, Each Blazing

By |2015-07-10T11:08:52-05:00July 10th, 2015|Categories: Bradley J. Birzer, The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

Winston Elliott III & Brad Birzer For those of you who do not know, Winston Elliott is the mastermind behind this whole venture, The Imaginative Conservative. I first met Winston twenty summers ago—at a conference he sponsored in Houston, summer 1995. I was still in graduate school at the time, living in Bloomington, [...]

In Gratitude & Hope: The Adventure Continues

By |2016-11-04T19:18:27-05:00July 10th, 2015|Categories: The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

Today we celebrate the five-year anniversary of The Imaginative Conservative. While it is true that we first published on July 10, 2010, the seeds of our efforts were planted much earlier. Friendships of decades, books inherited from the past, and lives spent in pursuit of eternal truths are the foundations of The Imaginative Conservative community. Among our writers many share friendships which help us to [...]

Thucydides and Never-Ending War

By |2018-08-08T00:07:01-05:00April 15th, 2015|Categories: Audio/Video, Classics, Plato, Thucydides, W. Winston Elliott III, War|

Thucydides' account of the twenty-seven-year war between Athens and Sparta is filled with timeless questions about human conflict: When are aggression and vengeance justified? Can peace ever truly be secured by war? How does war affect the integrity of language and character? What is the role of chance in war? Is war ever truly inevitable? Additionally, the participants [...]