Firing the Imagination: The Legacy of Russell Kirk

By |2018-10-19T07:46:17-05:00October 19th, 2018|Categories: Conservatism, Prospects for Conservatives, Russell Kirk, The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

Russell Kirk offers us a rich legacy in words and deeds. If we heed them we may yet play our part in preserving our Republic’s ordered liberty... The thought of Dr. Russell Kirk has inspired many people and many projects, including the journal that you are now reading. Founded by Dr. Bradley Birzer and myself [...]

The Real End of Economic Production

By |2018-10-16T20:24:23-05:00May 4th, 2016|Categories: Economics, Prospects for Conservatives, Quotation, RAK|

For the conservative, the real end of economic production is to raise man above the savage level, to make possible the leisure which sustains civilization, and to free man from the condition of a simple drudge. When efficiency or production becomes an end in itself, then truly technology has triumphed over humanity. —Prospects for [...]

Why Does the True Conservative Defend Private Enterprise?

By |2018-10-16T20:24:24-05:00March 23rd, 2016|Categories: Conservatism, Featured, Prospects for Conservatives, Quotation, RAK, Russell Kirk|

The true conservative does defend private enterprise stoutly; and one of the reasons why he cherishes it is that private enterprise is the only really practicable system, in the modern world, for satisfying our economic wants; but even more than this, he defends private enterprise as a means to an end. That end is a society just and [...]

Conservatism: A Social Concept

By |2018-10-16T20:24:26-05:00January 13th, 2016|Categories: Conservatism, Featured, Prospects for Conservatives, Quotation, RAK|

Conservatism, then, is not simply the concern of the people who have a great deal of property and influence: it is a social concept important to everyone who desires equal justice and personal freedom and all the lovable old ways of humanity. —Russell Kirk, Prospects for Conservatives: A Compass for Rediscovering the Permanent Things [...]

The Unbought Grace of Life: Liberal Learning

By |2018-10-16T20:24:28-05:00December 2nd, 2015|Categories: Civilization, Featured, Liberal Learning, Prospects for Conservatives, Quotation, RAK, Russell Kirk|

What the church is to the spirit of religion, liberal learning is to the unbought grace of life—the only means for realizing the end. Where there is no liberal learning, in the long run there is no civilization—at least no civilization in our Christian and Western tradition. For some years or even generations after [...]

A Compass for Rediscovering the Permanent Things

By |2015-02-19T01:09:29-05:00February 17th, 2015|Categories: Conservatism, Featured, Prospects for Conservatives, Russell Kirk|Tags: |

Prospects for Conservatives: A Compass for Rediscovering the Permanent Things by Russell Kirk, with a new introduction by Bradley J. Birzer. Imaginative Conservative Books, 2013. Russell Kirk’s most spirited work, Prospects for Conservatives is a vigorous defense of an authentic, elevated conservatism in the tradition of Edmund Burke, John Adams, and Alexis de Tocqueville. Written in part [...]

Prospects for Conservatives: A Compass for Rediscovering the Permanent Things

By |2017-11-29T12:20:53-05:00November 2nd, 2013|Categories: Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Conservatism, Imaginative Conservative Books, Prospects for Conservatives, Russell Kirk|

Prospects for Conservatives: A Compass for Rediscovering the Permanent Things by Russell Kirk, Imaginative Conservative Books, 2013, 278 pages In 1954, in a span of less than two months, Russell Kirk hammered away at what would become, arguably, his best book, A Program for Conservatives. Two years later, he revised and re-titled it, Prospects [...]

Reading Russell Kirk’s Prospects for Conservatives

By |2016-11-04T19:19:00-05:00April 20th, 2013|Categories: Books, Prospects for Conservatives, Russell Kirk, W. Winston Elliott III|Tags: |

Quite often, when leading a college class studying a great poem, I begin by reading it aloud. When I finish reading it, instead of beginning comment and discussion, I read it again, perhaps even a third time. Among other effects, this concentrates the student’s mind on the object, which is the subject. Commentary is [...]

We are Made for Cooperation

By |2018-10-16T20:25:00-05:00November 3rd, 2012|Categories: Books, Conservatism, Prospects for Conservatives, RAK, Russell Kirk|

By the conservatism of desolation, I mean the forlorn en­deavor of certain persons of conservative instincts to convince themselves that they are “individualists”—that is, devotees of spiritual and social isolation. The dreary secular dogma of in­dividualism is the creation of Godwin, Hodgskin, and Herbert Spencer, and it progresses from anarchy back to anarchy again. [...]