american ciceroOur co-editor of the The Imaginative Conservative, Brad Birzer, has written an excellent new biography entitled American Cicero: The life of Charles Carroll. From the book jacket:

Before his death in 1832, Charles Carroll of Carrollton—the last living signer of the Declaration of Independence—was widely regarded as one of the most important Founders. Drawing on his considerable study of Carroll’s published and unpublished writing, historian Bradley J. Birzer masterfully captures a man of supreme intellect, imagination, integrity, and accomplishment.

The book is the Knights of Columbus Book Club selection for August 2010. Below is the Knights of Columbus announcement. Congratulations Brad.

The Knights of Columbus is proud to feature historian Bradley Birzer’s new book, American Cicero: The Life of Charles Carroll, for the August Book Club. In American Cicero, Birzer, a professor at Hillsdale College, resurrects the accomplishments and legacy of Charles Carroll, a leading Founding Father who overcame intense religious prejudice to become the only Catholic to sign the Declaration of Independence and an intellectual force in the creation of the new American Republic.

Books on the topic of this essay may be found in The Imaginative Conservative BookstoreThe Imaginative Conservative applies the principle of appreciation to the discussion of culture and politics—we approach dialogue with magnanimity rather than with mere civility. Will you help us remain a refreshing oasis in the increasingly contentious arena of modern discourse? Please consider donating now.

We hope you will join us in The Imaginative Conservative community. The Imaginative Conservative is an online journal for those who seek the True, the Good, and the Beautiful. We address culture, liberal learning, politics, political economy, literature, the arts, and the American Republic in the tradition of Russell Kirk, T.S. Eliot, Edmund Burke, Irving Babbitt, Paul Elmer More, Wilhelm Roepke, Robert Nisbet, M.E. Bradford, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism (Visit our Bookstore to find books by/about these men).

All comments are moderated and must be civil, concise, and constructive to the conversation. Comments that are critical of an essay may be approved, but comments containing ad hominem criticism of the author will not be published. Also, comments containing web links or block quotations are unlikely to be approved. Keep in mind that essays represent the opinions of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of The Imaginative Conservative or its editor or publisher.

Leave a Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email