W. Winston Elliott III

Avatar

About W. Winston Elliott III

W. Winston Elliott III is President of The Free Enterprise Institute, Editor of Imaginative Conservative Books and Editor-in-Chief of The Imaginative Conservative. Mr. Elliott is Visiting Professor of Liberal Arts and Conservative Thought at Houston Baptist University. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in History from Washington College and a Masters of Business Administration, with Honors, from the University of Houston.

“Russell Kirk: American Conservative” — A Definitive Biography

By |2016-11-04T19:18:12-05:00September 1st, 2016|Categories: Books that Make Us Human, Bradley J. Birzer, Featured, Russell Kirk, W. Winston Elliott III|

The Imaginative Conservative’s co-founder and editor-at-large, Bradley J. Birzer, has received another award for his outstanding, new biography of seminal conservative thinker, Russell Kirk. Following on the heels of The Imaginative Conservative’s own 2015 Book of the Year Award, the Intercollegiate Studies Institute (ISI) has announced that Dr. Birzer has won the 2016 Henry and [...]

Ten Books by Eva Brann: Spark Your Imagination

By |2018-11-21T08:36:59-05:00June 22nd, 2016|Categories: Books, Eva Brann, Featured, St. John's College, W. Winston Elliott III|

Our readers have come to know and to admire Eva Brann, Senior Contributor to The Imaginative Conservative and tutor at St. John’s College, who always challenges us with her insightful writings on liberal learning, the hidden treasures in Homer’s poems, the artful devices of the dialogues of Socrates, and the wonders found in “the conservatory of the imagination.” [...]

An Ode to Great Books and a Beautiful Library

By |2019-06-06T18:33:35-05:00May 29th, 2016|Categories: Books, Essential, Featured, Libraries, Timeless Essays, W. Winston Elliott III, Will Durant, Wisdom|

Today’s offering in our Timeless Essay series affords readers the opportunity to join Will Durant and me as we contemplate bibliophilic exuberance. —W. Winston Elliott III, Publisher “If I were rich I would have many books, and I would pamper myself with bindings bright to the eye and soft to the touch, in paper generously [...]

Five Ways to Help The Imaginative Conservative

By |2019-06-14T15:17:45-05:00January 20th, 2016|Categories: Support The Imaginative Conservative, The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

Do you enjoy reading our reasoned and reflective essays at The Imaginative Conservative, as we pursue the Good, the True, and the Beautiful? Do you enjoy engaging in discussions of culture, history, politics, and economics, in the tradition of Russell Kirk, Edmund Burke, Richard Weaver, Eric Voegelin, Christopher Dawson, and other leaders of Imaginative Conservatism? Do [...]

Russell Kirk: American Conservative – Imaginative Conservative 2015 Book of the Year

By |2016-11-04T19:18:26-05:00January 1st, 2016|Categories: Book of the Year, Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Russell Kirk, W. Winston Elliott III|

The Imaginative Conservative is pleased to announce its 2015 Book of the Year: Bradley J. Birzer's Russell Kirk: American Conservative. This is the first in what will be an annual recognition given by the editors of The Imaginative Conservative to the book published during the calendar year that best enhances our understanding of conservatism. As Robert Stacey said in his review in [...]

In Gratitude & Hope: The Adventure Continues

By |2016-11-04T19:18:27-05:00July 10th, 2015|Categories: The Imaginative Conservative, W. Winston Elliott III|

Today we celebrate the five-year anniversary of The Imaginative Conservative. While it is true that we first published on July 10, 2010, the seeds of our efforts were planted much earlier. Friendships of decades, books inherited from the past, and lives spent in pursuit of eternal truths are the foundations of The Imaginative Conservative community. Among our writers many share friendships which help us to [...]

Thucydides and Never-Ending War

By |2018-08-08T00:07:01-05:00April 15th, 2015|Categories: Audio/Video, Classics, Plato, Thucydides, W. Winston Elliott III, War|

Thucydides' account of the twenty-seven-year war between Athens and Sparta is filled with timeless questions about human conflict: When are aggression and vengeance justified? Can peace ever truly be secured by war? How does war affect the integrity of language and character? What is the role of chance in war? Is war ever truly inevitable? Additionally, the participants [...]

James Madison and the Constitution

By |2016-11-04T19:18:31-05:00January 27th, 2015|Categories: Constitution, James Madison, W. Winston Elliott III|

Historian Jack Rakove talks about James Madison’s role in the creation of the Constitution and his arguments in support of the new frame of government in the Federalist papers. St. John’s College in Annapolis, Maryland, hosted this event as part of its “Great Issues Forum.” Mr. Rakove is introduced by the President of St. John’s College, [...]

Clever Comedy: Whit Stillman’s Cosmopolitans

By |2016-11-04T19:18:32-05:00September 4th, 2014|Categories: Film, W. Winston Elliott III, Whit Stillman|

We highly recommend this marvelous pilot episode for The Cosmopolitans, a new series by our friend Whit Stillman. Please watch this witty comedy and take the survey at Amazonoriginals.com so that they will support a complete series. Smart, clever, fun and beautiful cinematography. Well done Mr. Stillman! Read Richard Brody’s review in The New Yorker and [...]

Becoming the Beloved

By |2018-03-08T10:25:00-05:00August 25th, 2014|Categories: Books, Catholicism, Christianity, W. Winston Elliott III|

Brief reflections on Henri Nouwen’s Life of the Beloved: Spiritual Living in a Secular World In this sublime work Henri Nouwen offers to readers: “The greatest gift my friendship can give to you is the gift of your Belovedness. I can give that gift only insofar as I have claimed it for myself. Isn’t that what friendship [...]

Requiescat in pace, Stratford Caldecott

By |2016-11-04T19:18:34-05:00July 18th, 2014|Categories: Stratford Caldecott, W. Winston Elliott III|

It is with sadness that we learned of the death yesterday of a great man, Stratford Caldecott, a Senior Contributor to The Imaginative Conservative. Stratford graced our pages with some sixty-six essays, on such wonderful and varied topics as: the nature of the human soul; the essence of beauty; the mythology of J.R.R. Tolkien; the philosophy of G.K. Chesterton; Prince Charles [...]

Liberal Learning, the Human Person, and Plato’s “Meno”

By |2018-11-21T08:39:16-05:00June 23rd, 2014|Categories: Classics, E.B., Eva Brann, Liberal Learning, Meno, Plato, St. John's College, W. Winston Elliott III|

“First attend to the adjustment of your own soul, particularly the regulative liberal learning of your intellect, then project your internal economy on the world as social and political justice. The other way around is headless.”  – Eva Brann, The Music of the Republic: Essays on Socrates’ Conversations and Plato’s Writings Eva Brann is [...]

University of Colorado Appoints Bradley J. Birzer as Scholar in Conservative Thought

By |2016-11-04T19:18:36-05:00June 12th, 2014|Categories: Bradley J. Birzer, Education, W. Winston Elliott III, Western Civilization|

Bradley J. Birzer has been appointed the second Visiting Scholar in Conservative Thought and Policy, the University of Colorado Boulder announced today. Dr. Birzer, a professor of history and the Russell Amos Kirk Chair in American Studies at Hillsdale College in Michigan, will begin his one-year appointment beginning in fall 2014. “Dr. Birzer brings [...]

Welcome to The Imaginative Conservative: Stephen Klugewicz

By |2016-11-04T19:18:38-05:00June 11th, 2014|Categories: Stephen M. Klugewicz, W. Winston Elliott III|

The Imaginative Conservative is pleased to announce that Stephen Klugewicz has joined its staff as Editor. Dr. Klugewicz  previously served as president of Franklin’s Opus, as headmaster of Regina Luminis Academy, as director of education at the National Constitution Center, and as executive director of the Collegiate Network. He is the co-editor of History, on Proper Principles: Essays in [...]