Dystopia

America’s Freedom Image Problem

By |2018-09-26T15:23:34-05:00September 25th, 2018|Categories: Freedom, Great Stereopticon, Modernity, Rhetoric, Richard M. Weaver, Worldview|

The week after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, President George W. Bush addressed a joint session of Congress. He gave in many respects an eloquent and well-crafted speech. It set down with considerable skill the meaning of the attacks and reasons to launch the war on terrorism. Nonetheless, the President made few references [...]

Erotic Love and the Totalitarian State

By |2019-07-18T12:10:39-05:00September 6th, 2018|Categories: Civil Society, Conservatism, Culture, Dystopia, Literature, Love|

The totalitarian State wants to control all; it wants to own all that is human, and this includes the erotic, the sexual, and the romantic. By suppressing and controlling these elements in men and women, it hopes to obtain complete domination over every aspect of their humanity... With the publication of Brave New World in [...]

Future Shock: Notes for a Novel I’ll Never Write

By |2018-07-21T00:12:56-05:00July 20th, 2018|Categories: Catholicism, Civilization, Culture, Dystopia, Fiction, Joseph Pearce|

Here’s the scenario: As the culture of death destroys itself in its auto-cannibalistic self-consumption, millions begin to flock to the Faith. In the very death throes of decadence, Christ and His Church rise, phoenix-like, from the ashes… I have a deep admiration for successful novelists. I don’t mean “successful” in the worldly sense but [...]

George Orwell: The Forgotten Prophet

By |2019-03-19T10:22:37-05:00July 13th, 2018|Categories: Culture, Dystopia, George Orwell, Joseph Pearce, Literature, Western Civilization|

George Orwell’s 1984 was so successful and so influential that he was seen as something of a prophet. This dystopian novel was considered a cautionary prophecy of what would come to pass if future generations ceased to be vigilant in the guarding of their freedom... Someone to claim us, someone to follow Someone to shame [...]

Modern America: A Disneyland Dystopia

By |2018-05-18T12:15:40-05:00May 14th, 2018|Categories: C.S. Lewis, Culture, Death, Dwight Longenecker, Dystopia|

In modern America, all the dystopian horrors exist hand-in-hand with what seems like one perpetual theme-park existence. The war, torture, abortions, castrations, murders, suicides, drug addiction, homelessness, and medical horrors reside side-by-side with the smiling face of America, where everyone has perfect teeth and waves out a cheerful, “Have a nice day!”… Having just [...]

Aldous Huxley’s Mirror

By |2019-06-13T17:25:00-05:00April 11th, 2018|Categories: Aldous Huxley, Books, Dystopia|

Aldous Huxley cautions modern folk, who think or assume that they can continuously redefine or reconstruct primary forms of human relationship without risk, that their actions may lead to unintended, unanticipated, and unwanted consequences… Editor’s Note: The following is excerpted from Rallying the Really Human Things by Vigen Guroian (325 pages, Intercollegiate Studies Institute, 2005)  The theme of [...]

The Future of Dystopian Literature

By |2017-01-10T15:36:58-05:00June 18th, 2015|Categories: Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Dystopia, Dystopian Literature series by Bradley Birzer, Featured, Senior Contributors|

This short series on dystopian literature has been a guide and little more. A longer analysis would do justice to a number of authors who deserve to be studied. The great Kurt Vonnegut offered the darkest of satire when exploring governments gone terribly wrong in Player Piano (1952), Mother Night (1961), Cat’s Cradle (1963), [...]

A Decadent Hell Hole: The Dystopia of “A Handmaid’s Tale”

By |2017-01-10T15:37:42-05:00June 13th, 2015|Categories: Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Dystopia, Dystopian Literature series by Bradley Birzer, Featured|

Of contemporary thinkers, no one engages the essence of dystopia more than the Canadian author and professor, Margaret Atwood. She is, unquestionably, one of the most important women of letters, offering social and cultural criticisms in the vein of George Orwell and Russell Kirk. As with Orwell and Kirk, Atwood does not easily fit into a [...]

Ray Bradbury and the Dystopia of “Fahrenheit 451”

By |2019-08-15T15:18:20-05:00June 5th, 2015|Categories: Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Dystopia, Dystopian Literature series by Bradley Birzer, Featured, Ray Bradbury|

An American original, Ray Bradbury, will enjoy a high reputation for centuries to come. The future will remember him for hundreds of short stories and at least four profound novels: Fahrenheit 451; The Martian Chronicles; Something Wicked this Way Comes; and Dandelion Wine. Though Bradbury never set out intentionally to discuss dystopia or utopia, [...]

The Dystopia of Orwell’s “1984”

By |2017-01-10T15:39:32-05:00May 30th, 2015|Categories: Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Dystopia, Dystopian Literature series by Bradley Birzer, Featured, Literature|

Though gorgeously written in its own right, 1984 also benefitted from the timing of its release, at the very end of the Second World War and at the beginning of the Cold War. Though a delusional love affair existed between the West and the Soviet Union in 1943, disillusionment and reality set in in the [...]

C.S. Lewis: Imaginative Conservative

By |2017-01-10T15:46:08-05:00May 20th, 2015|Categories: Bradley J. Birzer, C.S. Lewis, Christendom, Christianity, Dystopia, Dystopian Literature series by Bradley Birzer, Literature|

Most who remember C.S. “Jack” Lewis (1898-1963) remember him as the author of the seven Narnia books as well as a host of works of Christian apologetics, such as The Screwtape Letters (1942), The Great Divorce (1945), and Mere Christianity (1952). Few, however, remember his science-fiction trilogy, his vast literary criticism, or his somewhat [...]

George Orwell: Jaded Revolutionary

By |2017-01-10T15:46:37-05:00May 13th, 2015|Categories: Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Dystopia, Dystopian Literature series by Bradley Birzer, Featured, George Orwell|

Unlike the first two British dystopian writers, George Orwell was a colonial, born in India in 1903. He entered the world as Eric Arthur Blair, but later adopted and wrote under the pseudonym of Orwell. Having experienced the life of a destitute bohemian, as a prep school teacher, as an imperial British policeman in [...]

The Dystopian Vision of Aldous Huxley

By |2017-01-10T15:40:09-05:00May 5th, 2015|Categories: Books, Bradley J. Birzer, Dystopia, Dystopian Literature series by Bradley Birzer, Featured|

The other brilliant dystopian of this early period, Aldous Huxley, also came from a prominent British family. The great grandson of T.H. Huxley on his father’s side and the grand nephew of Matthew Arnold on his mother’s side, Aldous Huxley came from a family of distinguished thinkers in the arts and the sciences. Huxley’s masterpiece, [...]